Class Admin

For Pearson Lightbook, Pearson Reader 2.0, Pearson Reader, Pearson Active, Pearson Assess and Mathspace you need to create a class that links you to your students.

For Bug Club Teachers: Please use the Bug Club admin tools to create classes for Bug Club.

Accessing Class admin

To access Class admin, login to Pearson Places, select the My Place icon (as pictured below), and from the My Place menu, select Class admin.

Create a class

How to create a class, add students to the class and associate a product with the class.

  1. Select Create New Class, enter the name of the class and select Create.
  2. All of the students in your school will appear in the Students not in class list. Select the column headers to order the list by First Name, Last Name or Year. Choose a year from the drop-down list to only see students from that year level.
  3. Select the check box next to the name of students you would like to add to the class.
  4. Select the right arrow to move them into the Students in Class list.
  5. Select the product(s) that you would like to associate with the class.
  6. Select Save to save the class.

If your school has purchased the selected product(s) directly from Pearson, class admin will also allocate a product license to the students in the class. If there your school hasn't purchased enough licenses, an alert will appear. For more information about product licensing see the Product licensing article.


Remove students from a class

  1. To remove students from the selected class, select the check box next to their name.
  2. Select the left arrow to remove them from the Students in class list.
  3. Select Save.

If your school has purchased the selected product(s) directly from Pearson, removing a student from a class will also deallocate the product license from that student. For more information about product licensing see the Product licensing article.


Edit or delete an existing class

  • Select the class name from the list of existing classes. Select Download to download a list of the students in that class, including their username, password and year level. Select Edit to change the class name. Select Delete to delete the class. This will not delete any student accounts.
  • To change the students in the class or add a product to a class, follow the instructions above.